I ATE WHAT YOU COULD HAVE DONE TO ME

I wrote a poem for the Journal “Thank You For Swallowing”. The journal was started in protest of a poem written by a man and selected for Best British Poets. His poem (which was not that good, let me add) is called “Thank You For Swallowing My Cum”. I wrote this poem as a part of women’s protest poetry.

THANK YOU FOR SWALLOWING

Because I liked to feel forced because force
is power and I was young enough to believe

I could swallow your acceptance. Because
I lifted thighs to the mountain. I towered

over myself, made her little, slept with men
posing as kings. We could have created

many things. I am a light inside a bush
no one can smother; Moses bowed down.

Because I had to be fed, I ate like a whale
every inch of any thing you held over me.


duckface Shannon Elizabeth Hardwick received her MFA from Sarah Lawrence College. Her manuscript was a finalist for the Levis Prize in poetry and her chapbook was recently released by Thrush Press . She is an associate poetry editor for  The Boiler Journal . Her work has appeared in the following:  3:AM Magazine, Night Train, Versal, Sugar House Review, Four Way Review,  among others.

View original post

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

